top of page
  • Writer's pictureHer Image

Message From A Black Female Sailor




Let’s talk hair, more specifically let’s talk “Military Hair.” I’m not going to bore you with the rules and regulations of how this new instruction that has recently came out affects US. I’m going to talk about how it clearly bothers others. July 11th, 2018 black girl magic was sprinkled down my timeline and I’m sure everyone else’s as well. The smell of coconut oil and shea butter filled my nostrils as I smiled with excitement. OUR voice was finally heard!

Being in the navy coming up on seven years now I’ve gone through two big chops. Anyone that has big chopped before knows the struggle of that “awkward stage”. You know when it’s too short to put in a bun but too long to just wear out because it is deemed “unkept” and looks “unprofessional”. So to stay within standards we are forced to spend hundreds of dollars on weaves, braids, wigs etc. Don’t get me wrong, I like to dibble and dabble in a protective hairstyle every now and then but that can be costly.

I have many friends that are active and veterans of the Navy that have/had locs but had to either cut them, decided to get out, comb them out or cover them due to the fact that the hairstyle was not authorized. So, when this new instruction came out about locs being authorized in the navy, many women in the Navy were very happy and I was too. This is a BIG win for my serving sisters!

However, can I just share what upsets me most, it is to see people spew out hateful comments such as, “that’s not professional looking", "it’s so messy”, “not in my Navy”, “This isn’t fair” and the list literally goes on and on and on. You would think the people responding with anger were directly impacted with the day to day tasks that come with managing our crown.


My message to everyone who isn’t feeling the new instruction:


GET OVER IT!



And another message for the people in the back:




because guess what. Whether you like it or not, it’s happening. Its not happening to you, its happening for us. Now until you have the privilege and honor of living in the realm of a black woman's body you don't have the right, nor permission, or privilege to speak up regarding matters that don't concern you. If you're an active duty sailor that isn't African American nor a woman then I know you're probably thinking, "It does concern me. It's my Navy." I would like for you to think about this:


You will never understand the struggle that an active duty black female sailor has to endure when it comes to our hair. I literally have not met one woman that hasn't been confronted by someone regarding their hair. A woman's hair is one of her most prized possessions and assets. To be forced to conform and comply with regulations that contradict our very being and culture is pretty much a slap in the face. How would you feel if you couldn't be authentically true to who you are and where you come from? No woman (or man but this isn't about them) should be forced to give up a piece of themselves because someone is offended or deems it dreadful. Caring for a black woman's crown is no easy task, nor is it a cheap task. However, when we are forced to comply with "socially approved standards" it can become even more expensive, time consuming and draining mentally. So once again, if you don't like it or aren't accepting of what is then that means you aren't accepting of me or my culture. However, the Military has finally heard our cries, NOW YOU'RE GOING TO GET THIS BLACK GIRL MAGIC TODAY, TOMORROW AND FOREVER!

There are a lot of people that get out the military for various reasons, some being that they don’t want to conform to the standards that are enforced. I get it, and I have my days where I feel like I’ve had better days. However, for now this is the life I’m living and I appreciate everyone who made this happen because it means a lot to have your voice heard over such a conversational issue. Now if you would please excuse me while I go book my next hair appointment.




- A Happy Black Female Sailor

0 comments
bottom of page